Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ebeasley

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 13, 2011
Australia
Hi everyone,

I'm trying to decide which MacBook Pro to purchase. I currently have a MacBook Pro 13-inch from 2018. It has a 2.7 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7. The memory is 16 GB. Storage is 1TB.

I'm replacing it because it's really struggling to keep up with my work. It overheats whenever I use it and the fans are very noisy. I have taken it to the Genius Bar multiple times, and the battery was failing, so I've had it replaced, but it hasn't changed anything. The fans are clean.

What do I use my laptop for? I'm a researcher and I often have multiple 20-50 page PDF documents open at one time and need to flip through them. At the same time, I will have a couple of Word documents open, sometimes up to 80k words. I also use multiple statistical programs, and I will list all the apps I use. I usually work with a second screen - I have a Studio Display. I am thinking of using two screens at one time, but I'm not sure about the setup yet.

I'm also a psychologist who sees clients online. I use Zoom for this, and I often have a few documents open at the same time. In regard to personal use, I use email, Fantastical (diary), social media and I download my photos, but I don't edit them. AI seems to be coming along quickly, so I might need to use an app related to that in the future, but I couldn't be certain.

I would like this MacBook Pro to last at least as long as the MacBook Pro I had previously, which I had from 2011 to 2018. I replaced it for similar reasons to my current MacBook.

The apps I use are as follows:
  • Adobe Acrobat
  • Books
  • Dropbox
  • EndNote
  • FaceTime
  • Fantastical
  • Firefox
  • IBM SPSS Statistics
  • Jamovi
  • Kindle
  • Leximancer
  • Microsoft programs
  • NVivo
  • OneDrive
  • Photos
  • R
  • Safari
  • Zero
  • Zoom