Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Apple MacBook Pro vs. Dell XPS 15

• Apple MacBook Pro 15 inch

Votes: 15 45.5%
  • Dell XPS 15

Votes: 18 54.5%

• Total voters

davidhunternyc

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 26, 2011
Hello,
My entire life I have only used Apple Products. I have only owned MacBook Pro laptops and iPhones. As an artist and designer, I am anal about details and it's the reason why I chose Apple to begin with. Apple products continue to be simply gorgeous to look at. All of my software is Mac specific. And yet, I am thinking about switching. Apple's lack of innovation, lack of ports, and Apple's insistence on barring third party repair shops to fix broken and dated computers is abhorrent to me. Really, gluing down hard drives, batteries, and other internals that can not be upgraded or fixed is a calculated move by Apple to force consumers to upgrade to new computers. Don't believe me? Check out Louis Rossman on YouTube. Then there's the dongles, those bloody dongles. Yes, Apple. Yes, Christopher Ive. I get it. I too hate all of those different connectors and all of these cords which tangle and overflow in my drawers, but really, you give us dongles instead? So recently I have been contemplated my next move. When I do a Google search comparing your Mac Book Pro to the Dell XPS 15, Apple loses. To the readers of this thread, thank you. Do you have the same frustrations or am I but a fish caught in the net of an empty wind?

Last edited:

Sanpete

macrumors 68040
Nov 17, 2016
Utah
I think you've already made your move, so I don't see much point in taking up the many controversial points you take for granted, all much discussed here already. Hope the XPS serves you well.

davidhunternyc

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 26, 2011