Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Camdeck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 11, 2018
I have a MacBook Pro Model A1278 late 2012 I believe. I ordered suggested ram I saw from a YouTube video and tried to install it as the video said. Disconnect battery, remove old ram and insert new.
I did this and now it won’t even respond, even if I put the old ones back in. I can send pictures of what I ordered since I am not an expert in this kind of thing. I am terrified that I broke it. Any suggestions?
I tried to reinstall the old ones to no avail.

Camdeck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 11, 2018
You have a link to the ram you installed?

There is no late 2012 a1278 from what I can find. Is it a mid-2012 13"?

Yes you are right. Sorry about that. Mid 2012, 13”.
https://www.google.com/search?q=Cor..._AUIEigC&biw=414&bih=660#imgrc=lzp6CcgghcSh1M:
Here is the link to the one I found.
I was trying to surprise my wife by upgrading her computer because she hated it being slow. Bleh
Thank you for responding so quickly
[doublepost=1536725182][/doublepost]
Yes you are right. Sorry about that. Mid 2012, 13”.
https://www.google.com/search?q=Cor..._AUIEigC&biw=414&bih=660#imgrc=lzp6CcgghcSh1M:
Here is the link to the one I found.
I was trying to surprise my wife by upgrading her computer because she hated it being slow. Bleh
Thank you for responding so quickly

I didn’t check to see if the battery was charged before hand if that makes a difference. The charger light does not illuminate and zero response from the buttons. This is the first time doing anything like this. Seemed achievable from the videos.

Audit13

macrumors 604
Apr 19, 2017
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Which os is on the Macbook?

That ram should work.