Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

xhfoo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 7, 2018
The latest OS are slow on my iMac.
Opening apps(even settings, in-built apps), open Finder, Preview are slow. Boot consider normal.
Im a graphic designer, my majority apps are adobe illustrator & photoshop.
The lag are crazy when im performing those heavy apps compared to previous OS High Sierra.
Atleast High Sierra are doing fine.

Any recommendation for me before i try to do a clean install for it?

Spec: iMac 21.5, late 2012. 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5 & 8G rams.

(Problem solved)
10 October 2018 Edit: The final solution are make a clean install. problem solved. iMac 2012 now works like a charm.

Last edited:

campyguy

macrumors 68040
Mar 21, 2014
Seemingly by your own admission Mojave isn't causing issues. To wit, you wrote "Opening apps(even settings, in-built apps), open finder, preview, boot consider normal."

TBH, you didn't offer which version of PS or Illy that you're running. You didn't offer whether or not you're using a scratch disk, or which type of scratch disk you're using.

My recommendations? Install more RAM. Use a fast scratch disk. Install an SSD. They're also Adobe's recommendations - search their own online Support documentation. Look up my posts on this matter in these forums, I've linked directly to Adobe's own Support files, and I'll leave it to you to find them...

I see no difference between HS or Mojave relative to the CC suite apps (again, you didn't specify which Adobe apps that you're using). I've been using PS since v.3 and Illy since v.2, back in the mid-1990s. More RAM, a fast scratch disk, and a fast OS drive - same advice they were giving then is relevant today.

xhfoo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 7, 2018