Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Erdna

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 1, 2023
Hello, noob here. I bought a Mac Pro 5.1 and tried to install monterey with the original card and opencore. Everything went fine. Than i replace the card with a Sapphire rx570 nitro 8gb and Monterey became very slow. Is there something i can do to solve this? I tried to mess with the "non metal" options but it didnt solve anything. So i tried to run an older macos version (high sierra) from another ssd i had with it, but i get a black screen with the sapphire. Can someone please help me? Thanks

MacHosehead

macrumors member
May 21, 2022
The RX570 should have metal support in Monterey without any additional patches. Make sure to do the installation of the OS with the Sapphire card installed.

Reactions: Erdna

Erdna

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 1, 2023
The RX570 should have metal support in Monterey without any additional patches. Make sure to do the installation of the OS with the Sapphire card installed.
Thank you for your help, it worked! :)
I reinstalled and applied the opencore patch again on Monterey and its working fast now with the sapphire. Thank you my friend!! :)

oltjpack

macrumors newbie
Mar 30, 2023
Hello. I have a mac pro 5,1. Did a fresh install of monterey with oclp and with my rx570 installed. System information says "No kext loaded" for the rx570 and I get no video output from the card. Any suggestions??? Can't figure this out!

Erdna

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 1, 2023
Hello. I have a mac pro 5,1. Did a fresh install of monterey with oclp and with my rx570 installed. System information says "No kext loaded" for the rx570 and I get no video output from the card. Any suggestions??? Can't figure this out!