Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Calaveras

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 22, 2021
Didn't see any other threads on this so I thought I'd start one.
It seems the Magsafe 3 power cables do not last more than a few months in gentle usage.
I've a 2021 MBP I bought a little more than a year ago.
I've had 3 Magsafe power cables since then!
Spent a about 4 months in the middle of that using a long USB C cable for power, as I was traveling and not near any Apple stores when the first one failed.
So basically 3 months is the longest they last.
I was an audio engineer when I was younger. One of the things you learn is how to properly roll up a cable so you don't damage it. Microphone cables can get expensive, especially multiconductor cables that go with tube and stereo microphones. So I am pretty adept at letting the cable coil itself by it's own material memory.
I also secure my cables with velcro and keep them organized in a little bag. That way they aren't getting thrashed by the other contents of my laptop bag.
I'd also add that there is no visible physical damage to the cables when they fail. Aside from being slightly dirty (as white cloth dragged through the Starbucks of the Southeast will be).
Anyone else experiencing such a large failure rate?

Got an appointment at the Apple store later today.
I'm going to hold it under their nose and so no, bad, you did that. Bad Apple.
No kidding, of course I don't treat customer service people like that. I don't take people for granted.
Will be interested to see if I get a replacement or need to buy another.
I can limp along on a cheaper USB C cable, but I need all of my USB-C ports when I am working.
A $50 cable should last longer than 3 months! Actually I bought the most recent one on Dec 6th, so it's less than 3 months!

Reactions: MBAir2010

Conan86

macrumors 6502
Apr 9, 2012
Singapore