Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TiredStone

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 24, 2023
Hi everyone!

Newbie here

I’m going to be making the move from my trusty XR ( which to be fair is still going strong and is being handed down to one of my kids) to the 15 Pro (regular, not max).

I’ve seen some ‘concerns’ cropping up around the battery life of this model.

5 days out of 7, battery won’t be an issue because I’ll (sadly!) either be in the office or WFH so I can charge if needed.

However on the weekends I do like to get out for long days with the kids and I would use Apple Maps when driving, and take a lot of photos / video.

So I’m thinking about picking up some sort of MagSafe power bank as a back up ( I only found out about wireless power banks recently and think it’s a great idea).

But how safe are they? Could I charge one and then keep it in my car all the time in case of emergencies? Or is this going to be a risk?

Any other opinions on the battery life of the 15 pro would be appreciated too!

Thanks 🙂

Apple_Robert

Contributor
Sep 21, 2012
In the middle of several books.
As long as the accessory is MFi certified, you will be fine. I would not keep a power bank in the car. Excess or cold is not good for batteries.

I have an Apple Battery pack from my 14 Pro use and it also works for my 15 Pro. Good item to have.

Reactions: TiredStone

TiredStone

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 24, 2023
As long as the accessory is MFi certified, you will be fine. I would not keep a power bank in the car. Excess or cold is not good for batteries.

I have an Apple Battery pack from my 14 Pro use and it also works for my 15 Pro. Good item to have.
Thanks for the reply! I live in Northern Ireland so heat usually isn’t an issue 😂

But I see what you’re saying.

As long as I can safely keep a charged one in the car on a day out then it should be an ideal solution 👍

Reactions: fullauto