Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

80s Fan

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 31, 2008
I'm new to MagSafe (coming from an 11) and have a couple of questions. Hope someone here can help. I'm looking for a slim battery pack like Apple's, Anker's, Baseus's, etc. I see lots of these that charge at 7.5W. Are there some that actually charge (via MagSafe) at 15W? And I realize 15W is much faster but do you find that when you are out-and-about and need a charge from a battery pack, is it that much of a difference to have a 15W charger vs. a 7.5W?

Finally, any recommendations?

Thanks.

Apple_Robert

Contributor
Sep 21, 2012
In the middle of several books.
I would buy an Apple Battery Pack from a reliable source if possible. Charging at 7.5 will be better for the battery long term. I also have never had a problem with it not charging fast enough when out and about, which is not often. Keep expectations realistic and you will be fine.

Reactions: MBAir2010

scouser75

macrumors 68030
Oct 7, 2008
A boy of a thread revival here as didn't want to start a new thread when one's already in motion 😄

I'm also new to Magsafe technology having just bought an iPhone 13 and have a few q's too.

1) For overnight charging, is it better to charge using magsafe or the traditional cable method?

2) is it better to buy official Apple chargers? Or would a reputable 3rd party charger be just as good?

3) Any recommendations for a good over night charger?

4) Any recommendations for a travel power charger?

Ralfi

macrumors 601
Dec 22, 2016
Australia
1) For overnight charging, is it better to charge using magsafe or the traditional cable method?
I’ve been using a 3rd party wireless charging stand for years (since the iPhone 13) & it’s been great.

Having an angled stand makes it easier to glance at the time while lying down & tapping the Snooze/Stop button.