Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

desertman

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 14, 2008
Arizona, USA
I have been using a smart mailbox for unread emails for many years. It has always worked well - until a few days ago when the mailbox suddenly claimed there were two unread emails even though it was empty. See screenshot.

I have the same 5 email addresses on my iPhone too, and here the same smart unread mailbox reports no unread emails.

Reconfiguring all mailboxes in Mail has not helped.

Can anyone tell me how to get rid of these non-existent unread emails? That would be great.

Attachments

• 2 Unread Emails.jpg
    2 Unread Emails.jpg
    43.6 KB · Views: 34

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
I'd just DELETE that smart mailbox.
Reboot.
Then, if you still want such a mailbox, re-create it.

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
I don't think you have to delete the existing smart mailbox first. You can simply create a new smart mailbox and see what it does. If it works properly, only then delete the old one.

I'd start by making one smart mailbox per account. If it misbehaves, showing an Unread message count despite showing no emails, at least you'll know which email account is causing the problem. It could be more than one account.

It would help clarify things if you identified which OS version is on the Mac, and whether the email accounts are using IMAP or some other protocol.

desertman

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 14, 2008
Arizona, USA
I don't think you have to delete the existing smart mailbox first. You can simply create a new smart mailbox and see what it does. If it works properly, only then delete the old one.

I'd start by making one smart mailbox per account. If it misbehaves, showing an Unread message count despite showing no emails, at least you'll know which email account is causing the problem. It could be more than one account.