Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Evil_night

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2021
Hi guys,

I'm facing a major dilemma here and wondering if any of you would throw your two cents in for me to make the final decision here! I'm a film/video editor that mainly works on TVC and Music Promos, recently decided to upgrade my system so purchased a top of the line intel Mac Mini plus an eGPU enclosure with a Radeon Pro W5700 card. However, after doing some research I'm now torn because it seems like its way cheaper to build a modified iMac 5k set up with self-installed ram, I've already spent roughly a grand (in pounds) on my eGPU so thinking about integrating that in the iMac 5k set up as well. So I'm wondering, should I keep my Mac Mini + eGPU + LG 5k Monitor set up or should I return my Mac Mini and get an iMac 5k with some rams installed separately instead?

Here are the detailed specs:

Mac Mini Set up (£4565)

Hardware:​

• 3.2GHz 6‑core 8th‑generation Intel Core i7 (Turbo Boost up to 4.6GHz)
  • 64GB 2666MHz DDR4
  • 1TB SSD storage
  • Intel UHD Graphics 630
  • 10 Gigabit Ethernet (Nbase-T Ethernet with support for 1Gb, 2.5Gb, 5Gb and 10Gb Ethernet using RJ‑45 connector)
£2443

eGPU ( Radeon Pro W5700)
£1061

LG 5K monitor
£1,061

vs

iMac 5k: 3.6GHz 10-core 10th-generation Intel Core i9 processor, Turbo Boost up to 5.0GHz
8GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory
1TB SSD storage
Radeon Pro 5300 with 4GB of GDDR6 memory
£2,678.40

eGPU ( Radeon Pro W5700)
£1061

128 Gb Ram Bought Separately
£412

Grand Total: £4151

What do you guys think? Which one would be the most optimised option for me? I edit a lot of REDCODE, BlackMagic Raw stuff and do a bit of colour grading on the side so really need a powerful set up! And the eGPU has already been bought so have to integrate it in my system somehow...

Let me know what you think!

Evil_night

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2021