Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Stephen23

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 8, 2007
Austin, TX
Hello everyone,

I work as a multimedia artist for fine art and theater/dance. I've been waiting on the new Macs (with ports!) for ages, and my maxed out 2015 will finally be happy to have a rest as my daily driver.

I've seen the specs about the differences in the new Max vs Pro and what they can drive in terms of external displays at 4k and 6k, but has anyone seen any information about the maximum number of displays available in general? Most Mac laptops and iMacs have been limited to two external displays, which is a pain in the ass as three is a commonly requested number for presentation.

Since both the 14" and 16" have the same ports and processors, does anyone have a sense of whether they'll be able to drive four projectors or monitors (3 @ thunderbolt and 1 @ HDMI) running at 1080p? Or is there maybe a difference in what the Max can drive vs the Pro?

I know lots of people are going to say that if you're running multiples like that, you need to be using a Mac Pro or other dedicated system, and for larger projects we do that, but as someone who often does low budget productions with local dance companies as well, it would be very useful to have a laptop that could do three or four, and if I can spend a few hundred extra dollars for the max instead of pro, that capability is worth it.

Thanks!

joevt

Contributor
Jun 21, 2012
I think the specs imply 2 per Thunderbolt 4 port (otherwise Apple can't call them Thunderbolt 4) up to a max of 2 for M1 Pro and 4 for M1 Max. It's unknown if you can have all 4 displays on the left side of the M1 Max or if one of the four displays needs to be connected to HDMI port.

rkulpajr

macrumors regular
Sep 27, 2007
Columbus, Ohio