Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

stellerd

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 4, 2017
Hi all, I am in the market for a new computer for college. I am going to be studying overseas and will be traveling a fair bit so I definitely don't want to be sporting a 15 inch MBP. I am going to be studying sciences and will need the computer for essays, excel sheets, email, Netlfix, and youtube. I will also need a good screen to load images from wells from labs I do. Given these standards, I gravitate towards the 12 MB (portability, great screen, and good for basic computing needs), but the catch is that I'm also a musician. I use Logic pretty often, though during the school year, my use of the program dies down considerably (from maybe 30% of my computer use to 10% of my computer use.) With this said, what computer do you think is best for me? I want to make a long time investment, I don't want to be buying a new computer in two years. My current computer is a:

mid2013 Macbook Air 13", 128gb ssd, 8gb memory, and intel dual core i7

I currently run Logic OK. I've had problems where the program crashes and AU units and plug ins are not the best.

I am looking for a new computer because I don't want to go to school and have my 4 year old computer die on me and for me have to pay through the bum over seas where the cost of a macbook is MUCH higher than over here in the US.

With all of this above, what computer is best for me for a four-five year investment? I am looking for the most cost effective, so I am truly trying to spend less than $1400-$1500 TOPS. I don't think I'll be needing something like 16gb memory and some quad core i7 but I want input from people who have practice with these devises. Your input is greatly appreciated!
[doublepost=1502475702][/doublepost]