Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JayD74

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 24, 2016
Connecticut
Hello guys,.
Noob here and 1st time MacBook Pro owner.
I recently purchased a used 2010 MBP with 4gb of ram and 320gb hard drive. It's a core 2 duo running El Capitan.
The question I have is on the Apple site it says I can upgrade to 8gb. ram and either 500gb sata drive or 512gb SSD.
Will it be possible to upgrade to a larger hard drive? Am I limited to 500 or can I swap in a 1tb drive?
Screenshot_2016-05-24-18-39-36-1.png

JTToft

macrumors 68040
Apr 27, 2010
Aarhus, Denmark
You can install up to 16 GB RAM and as large a drive as you want. Consider an SSD rather than a traditional hard drive.
The information on Apple's website only mentions what they sold the machine with, not what it's capable of.

Reactions: MBP_187

JayD74

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 24, 2016
Connecticut
You can install up to 16 GB RAM and as large a drive as you want. Consider an SSD rather than a traditional hard drive.
The information on Apple's website only mentions what they sold the machine with, not what it's capable of.

The website states up to 500gb etc. Which is why I wanted to check with you guys before I purchase.
Is the hard drive as easy of a swap as the memory? Thank you for the reply

Last edited:

zackkmac

macrumors 6502a
Jul 7, 2008
Denver
It's very easy. You just remove the 10 screws at the bottom of the laptop, remove the cover and you can replace the RAM right there. The hard drive is also exposed at that point and you just loosen 2 captive screws on the bracket that holds it in, unplug it from the SATA connector and replace with the new drive. I can do both of these in about 5 minutes time.

Reactions: MBP_187

JayD74

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 24, 2016
Connecticut