Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mattwood92

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 13, 2019
Hi,

This is what I currently have -

MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012) Non-retina
Processor - 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
Memory - 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics - Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536 MB
Storage - 256GB SSD (External 500GB HD)

I'm a graphic designer who uses programmes such as Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, After Effects, InDesign. I'm currently in limbo as to whether I should upgrade my machine's Memory to 16GB (which I believe is the max that is supported on my system) and get a second display - possible a 27inch 1080p for more work space,
OR
Go for a new model such as the 2018 Mac Mini with a possible EGPU.

Any advice / suggestions would be massively helpful!

Cheers.

Nbd1790

macrumors 6502
Jan 2, 2017
New York
I think if you have been getting by with what you have currently, stick with it and upgrade the RAM to 16gb. Those laptops were some of my favorite ones they ever made for a lot of reasons (user upgrades being a huge reason).

Although, I do understand your itch for a new device as I'm sure this has been around for quite some time. Sometimes you should just treat yourself, especially with a work device (replacing one that's nearly 7 years old). I might also recommend taking a look at the 2018 MBP's. They're much more powerful now in comparison to previous generations.

imaccooper

macrumors 6502
May 29, 2014
North Carolina
If you are thinking of a Mac Mini with EGPU and I'm guessing a screen, I would suggest looking at the 27in iMac. You could get a base spec one with an SSD drive for under $2000. The ram is very easy to upgrade so you could spend a little more later when it is available and add 2x8 ram for a total of 24 gb of ram.