Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Boro22

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 3, 2023
Hi, I am new to MacOS. Just ordered a Mac Mini

what is the best process if I want to do a video montage of photos (on my Iphone) and play background music to it.

what software is best for this?

hg.wells

macrumors 65816
Apr 1, 2013
Either Photos or iMovie on your Mac. iMovie if you want more control.

Both are free, Photos will be installed by default and iMovie you will need to download from the App Store.

cthompson94

macrumors 6502a
Jan 10, 2022
SoCal
I agree with hg.wells, I would possibly try to lean/learn iMovie since if there is any chance you want to get a little more advanced you will have familiarity with it especially with maybe one day wanting to cut clips into it and whatnot

Reactions: Boro22

Boro22

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 3, 2023
Thank you. How easy it for this scenario.

I have loads of video clips of my toddler daughter on phone. How easy it to extract the best bits of that video files and put into montage.

In terms of music overlay, does the software provide royalty free music that matches the scene or can I use music from my Apple Music subscription?

Sorry not sure how it works.

It’s currently a faff doing it on my windows machine as have to go onto windows iCloud which is not as quick. Hence once of the reasons I am switching to Mac mini.

Hope I made the right choice…

cthompson94

macrumors 6502a
Jan 10, 2022
SoCal
Thank you. How easy it for this scenario.

I have loads of video clips of my toddler daughter on phone. How easy it to extract the best bits of that video files and put into montage.

In terms of music overlay, does the software provide royalty free music that matches the scene or can I use music from my Apple Music subscription?

Sorry not sure how it works.