Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

egmusic42

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 25, 2019
For the past few weeks I've been experimenting with a NVME Monterey 12.1 Boot Disk inside my 2019 24 core Mac Pro (Vega II 32GB GPU). Today, I booted back into my MAIN (apple) Catalina Boot disk and was struck by how much faster certain visual GUI operations are. As a music composer, I spend most of my time scrolling/zooming a complex DAW that really puts the CPU to work and comparing apples to apples - same big music project loaded on both Catalina and Monterey - it seems like Monterey is much laggier with all of these typical scrolling/zooming GUI operations.

Curious if anyone else with a nMP (or any other machine) has noticed the same? Wondering if maybe there's some kind of optimization for the Vega II that Monterey still hasn't quite nailed and metal is having to try too hard?

Evan

4wdwrx

macrumors regular
Jul 30, 2012
It's probably going to get laggier from now on, since there is less priority in optimizing for x86 CPUs.

AlexMaximus

macrumors 65816
Aug 15, 2006
A400M Base
For the past few weeks I've been experimenting with a NVME Monterey 12.1 Boot Disk inside my 2019 24 core Mac Pro (Vega II 32GB GPU). Today, I booted back into my MAIN (apple) Catalina Boot disk and was struck by how much faster certain visual GUI operations are. As a music composer, I spend most of my time scrolling/zooming a complex DAW that really puts the CPU to work and comparing apples to apples - same big music project loaded on both Catalina and Monterey - it seems like Monterey is much laggier with all of these typical scrolling/zooming GUI operations.

Curious if anyone else with a nMP (or any other machine) has noticed the same? Wondering if maybe there's some kind of optimization for the Vega II that Monterey still hasn't quite nailed and metal is having to try too hard?

Evan
Hi Evan,