Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tbgb50

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 10, 2024
I am considering moving from Windows to Mac Mini. The last Apple PC I had was an Apple II in 1979 so excuse me if this sounds clueless and is a bit long. I am planning to get an M2 mini with 16GB/256GB. My main use is teaching college courses online and general stuff like documents, spreadsheets and web browsing.

1. Software: I have compiled a list of all the software I run and found there is a either a Mac version or suitable alternative. Is this enough preparation?

2. Hardware: I have a 32" Dell monitor that is 4 years old, with HDMI, Displayport and USB C connections - this will work?

3. I have an iPad Air and iPhone - will any of this experience make the transition easier?

4. MS Office: I have a Microsoft 365 subscription and need to use Office and Teams for teaching. Based on looking at the Microsoft site, I should be good to go....but I don't really trust what a company says. If your are using this, have you experienced any gotchas?

5. Installing software: my only reference point is the Microsoft Store which is largely ignored by software companies - can you just download Mac versions as an executable installation file (like Windows) or do they have to be on the MAC store? If not, how do you install 3rd party stuff?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Jake123456789

macrumors newbie
Aug 7, 2023
I switched from Windows to Mac a year ago.

I use a TV for a screen via HDMI. It sounds like your monitor has more connecting options than mine does, so you should be fine there.

People on MacRumors like to talk about Macs having problems scaling text to 4k (vs 5k). I haven't noticed a problem, but maybe you'll see something that I have missed.

I use the Microsoft Office suite. I think what I did was log onto the Microsoft site and download the apps from there; but I don't remember.