Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

scotjen1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 12, 2022
Hi All,

I hope some can help.

I have a mac pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 firmware. Upgraded CPU's and RAM.

Ive been using my MP in this configuration for a couple of years now and love this machine, its a beast even compared to some of todays hardware :)

Just recently my child was using it to watch some youtube videos and was using cheap headphones on it and unfortunately the jack of the headphones snapped in the front port. I tried various methods to remove it but was unsuccessful.

With that in mind i purchased a new front I/O board and swapped them over.

Ever since i have done the swap i have no functioning USB ports front or back. So at 1st i thought maybe the replacement I/O board was faulty and was knocking out the rears as i'm guessing they are all on the same controller so i swapped the board back over to the original one ( with the blocked headphone port ) and unfortunately i still have no working USB ports.

I've tried various things to get them to work I.E. reseating the ram, booting up with out any drives in etc etc and i just can't get the USB ports to work.

Can anyone offer some advice on this or is it a case that i have blown something on the logic board and will need a replacement.

Any help on this would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
Hong Kong
Did you check if the BT still works?

Also, can you disconnect the front panel to make the back ports work again?

scotjen1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 12, 2022

Do you mean Bluetooth ? I can’t check anything unfortunately as both my keyboard and mouse are USB so I can’t even log in to it.

If I disconnect the front panel how do I switch the machine on to test the back ports ?

Thanks

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
Hong Kong