Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CFartist

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 4, 2020
Hi there!

I'm a digital artist and I use my Mac Pro as a tool for my job. Bought it about 5 years ago and it's served me well.

MP 6.1 current specs:
3.5 Ghz 6-core Xeon E5
64 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
AMD FirePro D300
500 GB SSD

That is until now, because my workload has become more demanding. I use mainly Photoshop and now I have to work with large multi layered images @ around 10 GB. I'm aware that PS performance is affected mostly by RAM and the scratch disk. My activity monitor shows little to no strain to CPU or GPU load. Blackmagic's Disk Speed Test shows 950/740 R/W with the OEM SSD. After reading this forum and doing a bit of research, I thought that a way to improve PS performance would be to upgrade the SSD.

It would be great if I there's a way to fit 2 SSDs in that trash can. One (1TB) for my files and the second (256GB) as a scratch disk. Also, I wouldn't want to swap an SSD, every time a new firmware comes out.

So, as I see it, I have these options:

Option 1. Angelshark Carrier board + Samsung 960/970 Pro/Evo 1 TB (as main disc) + Samsung 960/970 Pro/Evo 250 GB (scratch disc) + OEM disc
That would be ideal, but I don't know if anyone has tried it and what speeds we'd get.

Option 2. M.2 Samsung 960/970 Pro/Evo 2 TB + Sintech adapter.
That's an option, but, like I said, I don't want to swap SSDs to update the firmware.

Option 3. OWC Aura Pro X2 2 TB with enclosure
That's an option, but the USB speed of the enclosure sucks, so it's basically useless as a scratch disk.

Option 4. OWC Aura Pro X2 or Samsung 960/970 Pro/Evo + Sintech adapter for main disk and find a TB2 enclosure to be used as a scratch disk.

Option 5. Sell the trash can and buy a new Mac Pro. That's going to hurt!

What do you guys think? Also, I'm open to any other suggestions for other upgrades.

Thank you advance!