Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

aplasticspork

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 27, 2004
Seattle Wa.
now, i realize that there have been multiple threads here at macrumors about gigapixel images that have been taken and all that, but i have yet to see one about someone who is planning on taking one. so here is the first such thread.

i'm sure that everyone knows that there are two ways to take a gigapixel image, either spend thousands of dollars on equipment, or stitch together a lot of smaller pictures. unfortunately i don't have thousands of dollars to spare, so we will be using the second method.

first let my point out that i have never done anything of this magnitude before, and have no idea if it is feasible with the current camera we have. if we can't get it to work this time around then we will no doubt try again later as we are planning on getting a digital SLR camera. the camera we are planning on using if just a normal camera (well, low end prosumer non SLR camera with fully manual or fully automatic controls). the main problem is that i don't know if the field of vision is narrow enough for this sort of project, if the field of vision is narrow enough then we will make the attempt. the camera is a 7 megapixel pentax optio 750z, it has a 5x optical zoom, 40x optical+digital, obviously we will be using a tripod. so the first question is, if the field of vision isn't narrow enough with just the optical zoom (which i am afraid it won't be) should we use the digital zoom, i realize that this will reduce the quality of the individual images, but they will then be pictures of a smaller area so when stitched together the quality loss won't be too bad.