Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheFlaneur

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 6, 2011
I’ll do my best to keep this brief. EDIT - fair warning, I failed :D

I ordered a CTO M2 MacBook Air in late August 2022. Space Gray, 24GB RAM, 2TB storage, US Keyboard (American living in London).

Upon arrival I immediately gave my M1 Air to my wife and added the new M2 to my desk setup, which includes a TB3 Audio Interface - I’m an audio professional for 20 years — this is relevant later. First couple weeks everything was great. It wasn’t until the 2nd or 3rd time I used it as a mobile device that I noticed the issue: certain sounds, including (and especially) notification sounds — both stock MacOS and Teams/Outlook sounds were playing with a weird distortion when using the built-in speakers. “Weird” as in obviously not speaker distortion, but something inside the machine vibrating — an acoustic phenomenon known as sympathetic resonance. All physical matter has a resonant frequency, play that frequency near it and it will start to vibrate… sympathetically. To my trained ear, this was happening in my M2 Air. I tested this with various tone generators. The result was that I could consistently produce this rattling by playing test tones between 500-900 Hz at 60% volume and higher.

I called Apple Support. Sadly, I had missed the return grace period since I didn’t notice the fault until around the third week of receiving it. They booked me a visit to the Genius Bar. I explained all of the above to the Genius. He heard it, but didn’t hear me: it’s not the speakers. He kept the device to be shipped off for repair. I received the repair about 8 days later. A note inside indicated the speaker module was replaced. Unsurprisingly, the fault was still present.