Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

natale

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 14, 2023
I ordered a Macbook Pro m2 Pro, 10/16, 32gb Ram, 1tb memory, a day before Apple announced they were having an event 🙃 its just arrived to the store for pick up, wondering if I should pick it up or send it back and upgrade to the M3 Pro 11/14 base model + 36gb RAM as it works out almost the same price, about £50 difference.
It took me months of saving to get to buy the one I wanted, was trying to future proof with the upgrades. Currently using a mid 2012 macbook air so either will be a massive step up, want to make sure i'm getting the best one I can though.
Im a CS student, but thinking of changing course to machine learning/AI, and not sure if the gpu in the m3 pro base model is as good as the m2 pro? is the Geekbench Metal benchmark a god indicator, as the M3 seems to score lower in that in the reviews i've seen.
Thanks

Reactions: Burnincoco

OrenLindsey

macrumors 6502
Aug 4, 2023
North Carolina
The chip basically won't be an upgrade (thanks to the lower memory bandwidth, less performance cores, and less total cores). It will be almost identical. Just think of it like that. However, you are getting at least a few months extra of supported updates from it, and the space black color, slightly more memory, better battery, and a brighter screen. So I would switch.

natale

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 14, 2023
The chip basically won't be an upgrade (thanks to the lower memory bandwidth, less performance cores, and less total cores). It will be almost identical. Just think of it like that. However, you are getting at least a few months extra of supported updates from it, and the space black color, slightly more memory, better battery, and a brighter screen. So I would switch.