Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Luis Ortega

macrumors 65816
Original poster
May 10, 2007
I bought a MBP about 2 weeks ago after being a Windows user for many years. I have been building my own PCs for almost 10 years and my main use of them is for video editing. For the benefit of those in a similar situation, I'd like to share my experiences so far.

The hardware arrived in 9 days from order and it was in perfect condition. It came from Shaghai!
I bought 2 x 2 gig ram modules from Crucial and maxed the ram to 4 gigs myself and had no problems.

I was able to set up my mail and wireless broadband very easily with the computer doing most of the work invisibly.
I installed the apps that I use (FCPS2 and Master Collection CS3 and Office 2004)without any problems or crashes.
I downloaded all the software updates for the Mac and the apps I installed and except for asking my password, the computer did it all pretty much invisibly and without problems.

I was advised to run repair disk permissions regularly before and after changes, which I did, and never had any problems.
Is it possible to overdo using repair permissions? Coming from Windows, I am very experienced with regular maintenance routines like defrags, deleting temp files, etc., and although my Windows systems always ran well, I was used to periodic freezes and crashes but I knew how to fix them or avoid them.