Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

adn rcd dly

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 23, 2004
Salt Lake City, UT
Hello!!

I have been a video editor for many years, most of them without my own machine. A couple years ago I bought my roommates upgraded late '09 27" iMac and it has been time to upgrade for a while.

I pulled the trigger on a new 5K iMac with 4.0 GHz QC i7, 8GB RAM (2x4GB), M395X 4GB, and the 3TB Fusion drive. With the primary focus being video editing I know I need some more RAM, but I am also looking for a bus powered SSD for when I am moving from my home setup to my work setup. I want bus powered because I am sick of all the space extra cables and adapters take up. I am hesitant on choosing between some of the ones I've seen simply because I don't know if there is a difference on how they handle video editing (I use FCPX).

I've edited off a FW800/ USB 3.0 drive with a bit of lag but no failures. I was editing off a flash drive and I ended up frying it due to the auto render being on and it kept trying to write when it was low on space. That thumb drive is lost now. I thought 128GB would be okay, but it just didn't manage the files well and I didn't turn off auto render sequences. Here are the ones I have been recommended:

• Lexar 512GB USB 3.0 External Portable SSD - What's nice about this is the Lexar Professional Workflow HR2 Hub that can combine up to 4 of the drives or other same sized peripherals using external power and Thunderbolt. That would be great to eject a drive to take on the go and bring back and slide back in.
  • Samsung 1TB T3 Portable Solid State Drive - I've only heard personal testimony from the friend I bought the iMac from, and that was on the Samsung T1, now discontinued. So I don't have anything besides reviews which haven't answered my concerns about video editing.