Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Strider64

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Dec 1, 2015
Suburb of Detroit
I have been working with computers since the early 1980s and started tinkering around web design/development since around Oct 3, 1999 when I create my first web page. I have made all the types of mistakes a person can think of when it comes to creating a web page and I think the first mistake was using Frontpage. My biggest fiasco was create a website completely out of Adobe's Flash after I took 2 or 3 college courses in Flash. Talk about a stupid move, but it's true that people learn from their mistakes. Though in my defense I really did take web design & development seriously until around 2009/2010.
I was laid off from my job as a Shader (color matcher) for an automotive paint manufacturer, so I decided to go back to college where I earned an Associates Degree in Computer Graphics. I took a bunch of website courses in college after earning my degree to buster my knowledge on the web. Though the one regret was learning jQuery better than Vanilla Javascript in college as the instructor was a big fan of jQuery. After that I decided to teach myself PHP which I have become pretty good at. During that time my hobby of Photography took a serious turn and I am trying to go professional with that profession as well has Web Design and Development.
I have created an online trivia game https://www.miniaturephotographer.com/game.php that has seen many version over the last 3 or 4 years as it went from jQuery to vanilla javascript. I'm in the process of teaching myself NodeJS and React though it's tough finding more that 24 hours in a day. ? My current version of my website is this -> https://www.miniaturephotographer.com/