Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Erasmus®

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 30, 2006
Hello!
I'm a mac newbie and I need some help to shape my keyboard: I have italian keys but I write quite often in german, I heared I can assign special keys to special caracteres. I need to configure some shortcut keys which possibly work on every file (when I write in word, when I write here on the forum, when I write a new email with mail ... ). The cracaters I need to assign are: üöä.
Can anyone help me? Thanks!

SpankyPenzaanz

macrumors 6502a
Sep 4, 2006
Hello!
I'm a mac newbie and I need some help to shape my keyboard: I have italian keys but I write quite often in german, I heared I can assign special keys to special caracteres. I need to configure some shortcut keys which possibly work on every file (when I write in word, when I write here on the forum, when I write a new email with mail ... ). The cracaters I need to assign are: üöä.
Can anyone help me? Thanks!

Don't hold me to this but I believe this done through the 'International' Prefrences Pane in the Sys Prefs. and then Input Menu

Erasmus®

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 30, 2006
Right, first thanks a lot for the help.
Unfortunately, I cannot try out what you said because I had to bring the mac to the assistance because of a stupid buzz of the screen. Anyhow, I will a soon as it comes back (around Monday if I'm lucky) and tell you for sure.
Thanks again! ciao

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
what exactly does a "buzz of the screen" mean?

I presume this person is not a native speaker of English... and I'm going to venture the guess that he/she is talking about the faulty inverters that create a humming sound. Since the inverter is there for the LCD assembly, it's actually a correct attribution, I think?

Erasmus®

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 30, 2006
Sorry Mates!