Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SS2602

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 8, 2020
Hello,

I am starting college as a CSE student (iMTech course length 5 yrs). I need a laptop for programming and possibly some machine learning (after 5-6 semesters). Is the M1 Macbook AIR right choice for me? Note that I've never used a mac before and I need it to last at least 5-6 years.

Also, should I go for -

1) 7 core GPU/ 8GB/ 256GB
2) 7 core GPU/ 8GB/ 512GB
3) 7 core GPU/ 16GB/256GB
4) 8 core GPU/ 8GB/ 512GB

I can only comfortably afford the base model, though I may go for upgrading either RAM or SSD or GPU if its worth it in the long run.

Thank you :)

jdb8167

macrumors 601
Nov 17, 2008
Hello,

I am starting college as a CSE student (iMTech course length 5 yrs). I need a laptop for programming and possibly some machine learning (after 5-6 semesters). Is the M1 Macbook AIR right choice for me? Note that I've never used a mac before and I need it to last at least 5-6 years.

Also, should I go for -

I can only comfortably afford the base model, though I may go for upgrading either RAM or SSD or GPU if its worth it in the long run.

I would spend the extra money on RAM and, if you can afford it 512 GB. But RAM is the top priority because you want this to last 5 years. You can always add an external SSD for more storage. I doubt you will even notice the lack of one GPU core so 7 should be fine.

I’m a developer and I’ve been using the Air for a few weeks configuring and building all sorts of open source code. I’ve got Linux working in a VM. QEMu is almost there for x86_64 emulation and will be working soon. Video compression is working with Handbrake and ffmpeg. Python, Ruby and Java all run fine. I can’t think of too many things that are going to be a problem for school. Docker doesn’t work yet but it will within a few months. I’m not sure schools use it though they should.