Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

homestar

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 10, 2007
Hi all -

So I'm about to pull the trigger on a Mac Pro. I'm on a 24" iMac at my day job. For the past four years, my personal computer has been an iBook G3 (800mhz). Now that I'm doing a lot more in the way of freelance web design, I'm in desperate need of a machine with more bite. (My day job isn't liking the fact that I use my work computer for freelance jobs. :rolleyes: ). Primary (proc intensive) apps I use: Photoshop, Illustrator - with occasional Flash, and some iMovie/GarageBand stuff. No hardcore video editing to speak of - though I'd love to do more audio editing in the future, hobby-style.

To my question: initially, I was focused on the 2.66ghz MP. My thought was I'd start with 2gigs of RAM, and upgrade further once CS3 is actually in my hands.

But let's say I uncovered a bit more cash. Would you all suggest bumping up the proc speed to the 3ghz quad (the octo is, obviously, way more than I need) or would you take that extra cash and use it to bump up the ram?

Basically (and I know this is a common refrain around these parts), I want to ensure that my computer 1) screams now but also 2) lasts me as long as possible - and I want to make sure that the money I spend helps ensure that.

So what do you all think? I know it's partly just a matter of personal preference and need - but what would you do in my situation?

Thanks for your help!

akadmon

Suspended
Aug 30, 2006
New England
I don't have direct experience comparing 3.00 quad vs 2.66 quad, but if you just go by the clock speed the expected boost from the processor upgrade is not significant (nowhere near what it is for oung from 2.00 to 2.66). If it were my money I'd go with more RAM.

4God

macrumors 68020
Apr 5, 2005
My Mac