Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bdodds1985

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 18, 2011
Tartarus
im new to the camera world but very interested in buying something such as a digital slr. however, i would love to be able to record at least 720p video as well. im looking for suggestions at a reasonable price, below 800 at least. unless it comes with everything. id love to get a whole package with a lens, bag, maybe a flash. like i said, its all new to me.

i am looking at the Canon EOS Rebel T3i with a standard 18-55mm lens, since im new and dont need anything too serious. i recently did some research on the differences between flash and ring light and (had no idea before just though the ring light looked cooler) i can say that i wont be shooting macro or close ups very often, so a Canon Speedlite 580EX II Flash (or is that too much) was another thing i was looking at.

also, i dont own any photography programs like photoshop but i will once i get a camera. just another thing i have no clue about but im sure i can learn something like that by reading and trial and error. google works wonders. i look forward to any input and suggestions you all might have. the more the merrier.

Last edited:

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Check out dpreview both the reviews, glossary and forums. They'll provide you with as much information as you need to make an informed decision

thecowinheat

macrumors newbie
Dec 16, 2011
The T3i is a great frame. A few things you may want to look into or consider before buying a package.

CAmera Bag.