Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

timidhermit

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 6, 2011
I want to upgrade the stock Apple SSD in my newly purchased used MacPro6,1 (2013 model) to a higher capacity. I want to upgrade to at least 1TB and preferably 2TB.

Being a newbie, I don't understand much of the information posted in the FAQ (which I tried to read) and many of the threads here on this forum on similar topics, so I need some basic recommendations on the upgrade.

A specific usage case I have is that I need to dual boot to MacOS and Windows 10 / 11 (that is, not using VMware to run Windows in VM). I like to install Windows 11 on a separate partition from that of MacOS. I understand that not all nvme SSD will work because only certain BootROM versions and brands will allow this dual setup.

Here are my questions:

1. If I want to stick with stock Apple SSD, is 1TB the maximum capacity?
2. For stock Apple SSD, which RAM manufacturer should I get preferably? How do I check that the SSD is genuine Apple part based on the part's appearance (so I know how to search for them on eBay)?
3. For 2TB SSD, which is the preferred model and manufacturer of SSD (such as the 2TB blade from OWC)? Are there better options from Samsung and other brands? I preferred ones that do not require separate adapters as these adapters may cause problem with dual OS setup.

I don't mind if the SSD is in used condition. Compatibility and ease of setup are more important for my build with the dual boot requirement.

Please help!!! :)

AlexMaximus

macrumors 65816
Aug 15, 2006
A400M Base
Hi,

To your questions, (1) If you stick to Apple you are limited to 1TB as as far as I know.
When it comes to RAM (2), you can choose any manufacturer as long as you stick to the original specifications.