Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FoamCup

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 30, 2016
Hello, all!

I am looking for the "best" or "perfect" configuration for a new 2013 Mac Pro.

My needs are general everyday use such as web browsing, listening to music, watching videos, etc. I will also be editing HD videos in Final Cut Pro X and will be using HandBrake and Apple Compressor as well. Source content will be from a cable box, video from iPhone, and movies/videos downloaded from the Internet. I am no professional user. Only a casual user. I know it might be overkill and out of budget, but I think the Mac Pro will the best choice for me since I don't need portability but I prefer quietness and performance.

I'm thinking of starting with the stock quad core and then upgrading to the six core CPU. The eight core and twelve core are out of my budget range and some or all of the software, listed above, will not utilize all of the eight cores or twelve cores. Memory will be 12GB RAM upgraded to 16GB RAM to fill all of the available RAM slots as well as the extra 4GB RAM just in case. Internal storage will be upgrading from the stock 256GB PCIe SSD to the 1TB PCIe SSD. As for which graphics card, I need help on deciding.

I don't earn every much from working but I am saving up for the 2013 Mac Pro. I have a 2009 Mac Pro (Nehalem 3.33GHz Quad-Core CPU, 8GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT120) that I bought refurbished online, but I am looking at the 2013 Mac Pro because it is quiet/silent and its small size compared to the Mac Mini, making it easier to transport than the 2009 Mac Pro. Essentially replacing the 2009 Mac Pro with the 2013 Mac Pro.

Please help me. Thank you!

Last edited:

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
Hong Kong