Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Charvel86

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 17, 2024
Hey Gang,

looking for advice on accessories for a new iMac rig. finally replacing late 2013, 27” iMac. Opting for 4-port M3 with 16GB/500GB configuration. I am amateur photographer so I need 1-2TB external drive for photo library and another external HD for backup. Also an SD card reader would be nice. Main goal is compact and clean workspace. Performance/Speed is nice but secondary. I’m not a pro.

4 port iMac seems sufficient for my needs. Besides two external HDs, I plan on adding BenQ Screenbar lamp. It’s USB-A powered but I’ll get an adapter. An SD Card reader is a must-have, but I can use Apple portable reader as needed If I didn’t have a permanent solution. All ports would be occupied and I don’t have second monitor requirement.

I found the Satechi Slim iMac Dock which has both internal SSD and card reader. It’s really compact and fits the aesthetic I am going for, but I dont need the other ports in the dock, which are under-powered anyways. $150 isnt expensive but seems a lot for SSD enclosure and UHS-I SD card reader. NVME SSD should be plenty fast for photo library.

I also found a Sabrent dual NVME, TB3 SSD enclosure which would seem to cover Photo Library plus Backup and it’s compact, but not as slick as Satechi hub, NVME for backup is total overkill, and no card reader.

I’m not a total noob, but I haven’t been in market for a while. Are there solutions I should be considering, or is the Satechi sufficient? Only would need a TM backup drive to complete. caldigit seems total overkill. Surprised there aren’t more docks that fit iMac. Dual bay SSD, card reader and a couple of ports would seem to be a nice seller.

thanks.

Bigwaff

Contributor
Sep 20, 2013
Are there solutions I should be considering, or is the Satechi sufficient?