Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bdog1234

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 23, 2016
Texas
I work in the oilfield and have a mobile office trailer with a computer in it that collects a lot of data. The computer has no internet connectivity but is on a hardwired gigabit network with other devices in the trailer. I regularly need to extract anywhere from 10-100 GB of data from this computer and upload it to FTP servers at night back at my motel.

I have been copying this data to USB drives but it is terribly slow as the computer in the office trailer only has USB 2.0. Often I am stuck there for a couple of hours at the end of the day doing this after everyone leaves. Once back in town at the motel room I connect the USB to my MBP and upload it to the FTP. I don't really care how long this takes as I can let it run all night. My main concern is copying the data faster in the field.

It seems to me that a NAS is the solution. Over gigabit it should copy much faster than USB 2.0. My concerns are though how will I get the data from the NAS to my MBP so I can upload it back at the motel? Connecting the NAS to the public wifi at the motel doesn't seem like a good idea. Can I connect my laptop directly to the NAS via USB and get data from it?

fluamsler

macrumors member
Mar 5, 2016
near Basel, Switzerland
I have not tried this out but in theory you should be able to connect a NAS via wired Ethernet connection to your switch.
First you set up a user account on your NAS and create a shared folder (let's call them "Data"). Next you plug in a ethernet cable from your laptop to the switch.
After this you access your folder on the finder (buttons "Go to>connect to server" or similar) via the SMB protocol and enter the username and password of the created account. Your local link would look like this: smb://192.168.x.y/Data