Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

swap1712

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 20, 2008
Hi,
I am completely new to mac and networking stuff...for advanced users, it may be a stupid question but I'm expecting some basic guidance:
Here's a deal: I'm supposed to set up file services for some department in some college. I have a static ip associated with my server and I have named my server as "xyz-new". Suppose my domain is domainname.edu.
I want that my users should be able to access the server using website like names such as xyz-new.domainname.edu.
e.g. I want users to use ssh username@xyz-new.domainname.edu
instead of ssh username@<ip address> or ssh username@xyz-new.local
How do I do that?
I'll appreciate any kind of help inthis regard:)

belvdr

macrumors 603
Aug 15, 2005
You need to have xyz-new added to your internal DNS servers' domainname.edu stub file. Reload DNS and you're golden.

andrewag

macrumors 6502
Jan 11, 2005
Australia
Depending on how the network your clients are connected to you will need to add a DNS entry to the DNS server that the clients point to (assuming this is a private network).

belvdr

macrumors 603
Aug 15, 2005
Depending on how the network your clients are connected to you will need to add a DNS entry to the DNS server that the clients point to (assuming this is a private network).

That's just what I stated hours ago. :confused: At any rate, even if it is a public network, it will still need to be added to the DNS servers authoritative for the domainname.edu zone.

swap1712

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 20, 2008
Thanks, one more query