Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

igorpreston

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 9, 2018
Hey guys,

I'm considering to buy a brand new MBP 15 inch. However I have some questions regarding the models.

So I am a software engineer who's coding a lot. Right now I'm using top of the line iMac 5K 27 inch 2017 at home (i7 4.2Ghz, 64GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Radeon Pro 580) bought in June 2018 recently as I was working remotely for half a year and saw that as a good opportunity to buy very powerful desktop. I do all intensive work on it, like video / photo editing (I am currently into making videos on youtube), heavy projects code compiling, playing games (I was really amazed it handled StarCraft 2 and Diablo 3 at 60+ FPS easily for me, also my GF plays Sims 4 on it as well).

Prior to that I was working in the office and I had MBP 13 inch 2015 MF840 model (i5 / 8GB RAM / 256GB SSD), which the company gave me and I was only using that one for coding, meetings etc, I didn't even use the external monitor in the office, I really liked small factor and portability and speed. Laughed when other guys who had 2016+ models had to connect a lot of external adapters to insert USB stick or connect external monitor. But anyway I didn't use ports that much at all, I was just using the laptop to code and talk in meeting calls. I really love to use laptops without external monitor, be it 13 inch or 15 inch. So whatever, that little 13 inch MBP from 2015 was a perfect machine for me, was very happy about it.