Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

erkanasu

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 11, 2006
Hello everyone, first post, been glued to this site for a while however,

Okay, I have been a PC guy my whole life, and am ready to switch for good i think. Now, I was dead set on my buying one of the new rumored intel ibooks that never were released( yet ). I am a poor colledge student, and $2000+ for new macbook pro plus some software is just insasne for me currently.

Thing is, I want a Mac NOW. So, Im thinking of getting one of the new iMacs( $1200 edu ). This would replace my desktop obviously, but I would still need a laptop eventually. If you were in my shoes, would it be worth it to get a new intel iMac and then in the not to distant future get a refurb g4 powerbook/ibook? Is that what you would do? Im not a too demanding user. I do enjoy gaming, but that part of my life is spirialing away. Im a biochemistry student.

Thanks alot!

-Paul

P.S. If I bought Office for students on the iMac which would currently obviously run in Rosetta, would their be a free upday by microsft when it goes univeral? this would be good since then I could use the same software on a g4.

devilot

Moderator emeritus
May 1, 2005
erkanasu said:
If you were in my shoes, would it be worth it to get a new intel iMac and then in the not to distant future get a refurb g4 powerbook/ibook? Is that what you would do? Im not a too demanding user. I do enjoy gaming, but that part of my life is spirialing away. Im a biochemistry student.
I have a Rev. B iMac G5 (the one right before they implemented iSights) and the current 12" 1.33GHz iBook G4.

A good number of other posters here on MR also have the same set up. If you really are not a 'demanding user' as you say, then an iMac (especially the MacIntel) should more than suffice.