Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MattG

macrumors 68040
Original poster
May 27, 2003
Asheville, NC
Hey everyone--

I'm running 10.3.7 on my Xserve, and I need the server to add a manual network route everytime it boots up. How do I accomplish this?

The command I'm entering manually in the terminal right now is:

sudo route add 10... 10.1.1.1

Or maybe this isn't something I need the Terminal to do? Help!

MattG

macrumors 68040
Original poster
May 27, 2003
Asheville, NC
pigbat said:
How familiar are you with Unix?

I'm new to OS X and don't have a machine in front of me but here is a quick suggestion. Create a script to add the route and run it from /etc/rc during startup.

There may be a routing table somewhere that gets loaded on boot but I'm unaware of any. I haven't had an opportunity to play with routes much on mine yet.
Honestly I'm really not that familiar with Unix at all. I know a few commands. I don't even know how to make a script!

MattG

macrumors 68040
Original poster
May 27, 2003
Asheville, NC
pigbat said:
Check out that tutorial and see if you're comfortable with it. Always make a copy of any file before you start playing with it. This gives you a quick recovery point.
I read through it and it's very confusing. They don't make as simpler way to do this? In Windows I could just create a .BAT file to run every time the computer starts up. (Actually in Windows I can add a persistent route from the command prompt!)

pigbat

macrumors regular
Jan 18, 2005
MattG said:
I read through it and it's very confusing. They don't make as simpler way to do this? In Windows I could just create a .BAT file to run every time the computer starts up. (Actually in Windows I can add a persistent route from the command prompt!)

Perhaps I shouldn't have jumped in here since I haven't been using OS X long. Is there a /etc/gateways file?

Mord

macrumors G4
Aug 24, 2003
UK