Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gpspad

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 4, 2014
Sorry if this topic gets into the weeds of network setup, but curious how people are setting up their home networks. i finally got around to laying out some ethernet connections and its a huge difference in speed, but in setting it up I started reading about network setup and security.

Im a total novice but started reading about this "three dumb routers" setup philosophy I read somewhere. The theory is you divide your home network into three parts; one part for your main work setup, one part for all your home control stuff, and one part as a guest network. The switches go behind the threes separate routers and have their own domain ranges and can only see the items in that group.

The thought being that the firmware in the thermostats, tvs, ect....should be away from your main computer network as they are the most hackable devices. It would be easy to do with an few switches and an extra router, but if I put the ATV's on the home control network I would loose iTunes Home sharing and the benefits of airplay.

I like the concept, but now that I have the HDHomeruns working, I like watching TV on my desktop computers, this would kill that if all the Media stuff is on the Home network side. Also to use my phone to control the nest and any other home automation stuff, it would have to go to the internet to cross over to the home control part of the network.

My heads hurting already thinking about this, I was just curious if anyone put any thought into this and how have you setup your network in a smart home?

cynics

macrumors G4
Jan 8, 2012
I just have everything on one network for ease of use.

I guess there is nothing wrong with having that level of security but a lot of the time not worth the hassle.