Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HrnyTrckr

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 3, 2019
First let me say that I was a computer tech for 20 years (with my own business) but for the last 15 years I have been an OTR Truck Driver. I am still a geek and gadget freak but have never actually bought a New Apple Product until recently.

On December 27th I visited the AT&T store (the 5th one in a week) in West Dundee, IL looking for a new Android Tablet (I use as my GPS an older Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10") with LTE built in so I don't have to carry a hotspot around when I want to watch Youtube, Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, etc. No one had a single android tablet with lte. So after the store convinced me to PLAY WITH the new iPad Pro's I bit the bullet and bought the new 2018 iPad Pro 11" 256GB LTE version, along with the Apple Pencil 2 and the Apple Keyboard Cover. The store unboxed the tablet and after putting a sim card in it they placed it in the keyboard cover and paired the Apple Pencil 2. Then bagged everything and sent me on my way.

When I got back to the motel I was taking my Christmas Vacation in, a few hours later, I noticed that there were multiple software issues/glitches. Like the App Store showed 8 updates that would not install. So on December 28th I contacted Apple Chat Support (3 times). During their attempts to resolve the issues they had me remove the iPad from the keyboard cover. At which point I noticed the iPad had come Out-Of-The-Box bent.