Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

timisenman

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 29, 2022
Los Angeles, CA
Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting here, so I apologize for barging in. I wanted to share a new app I launched this week: Fair Weather Friends - Weather where your friends are.
https://apps.apple.com/us/app/fair-weather-friends/id1633831488

I built this app because, when I was living abroad, my mom and grandma used to always ask me about some storm that was happening in my country, and I'd have to explain that it was several hundred miles away. But then during serious weather events, I kept wondering how my friends were fairing in their cities, and if I should be concerned. So I built this app to tell me. It gives me a lot of peace of mind to see that their weather is generally okay, and therefore, so are they. I hope that it will provide the same comforts for any of you. If you friends are at risk of bad weather, the app will alert you when the conditions are bad enough, so that you *know* to check in on them.

My personal favorite feature of the app is the Lock Screen widgets. Seeing my friends on my Lock Screen has had this really consistent ability to just make me happy, because it's a reminder that they're around at all.

Here's a preview of the app. Would love any feedback anyone has, and would be incredibly grateful to anyone trying the app, or sharing it with people they care about.

Happy Holidays!
Tim Isenman

P.S. I am also the creator of an app called Pocket Rocket, in case anyone has used that.

fatTribble

macrumors 65816
Sep 21, 2018
Ohio
I just installed it. The interface is excellent!