Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

interlaced

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 16, 2005
Yay! I took my iBook and replaced the worthless 30GB hard drive to a wonderful 100GB. It's just a 5400 rpm drive, so it shouldn't be too hard for my iBook to run, right? I'm installing the OS now and it seems to be working okay.

Also, I bought a broken 12" Powerbook from a local ad lately and turned it on last night. The seller told me it had a broken screen. I turned it on for the first time last night and saw that the screen wasn't broken at all. If I put it under direct light, I can barely make out the main desktop. This doesn't mean I need to replace the LCD but that... I need to change the... inverter? I'm not positive. I'm not a pro at fixing computers but it's become a fun hobby for me. Wondering how easy it is to replace an inverter? I didn't see a take-apart guide on ifixit.com so I'm wondering if anyone can help me out?

interlaced

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 16, 2005
Whoops, now I have a problem. I tried to eject the OS cd. The 'eject' button works fine and the CD comes about 1/4 of the way out. But then the drive latches back onto it and loads it again. I tried to press the 'eject' key and then attempt to yank out the disc when I saw it but couldn't. Anyone know how I can get the CD out? Am I gonna have to take apart the computer again? :confused:

gman71882

macrumors 6502
Jan 12, 2005
Houston, Tx
The backlight replacement for the aluminum powerbook reqires special disasembly: ALOT OF WORK. its easier and MUCH less time consuming to just replace the entire LDC Panel. You can do it yourself for ~295 from wegnermedia.comits warranteed 359 for THEM to replace it. = extra $60
OR
you can buy one off ebay for cheaper... not guaranteed though.

Get the take apart manual for your model if you try this.