Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HRJR

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 15, 2018
I'm in the market for the new iMac 24" device. It's damn near impossible to find one in a store with 16GB Ram. The system requirements for programs like Photoshop and Illustrator is "8GB. (16 GB Recommended). Apparently there's something about the Apple processor that runs faster than their older Intel processor? Any input would be appreciated. I don't use Photoshop often, but don't want to get stuck down the road with insufficient RAM. Thank you.

kodabear

macrumors regular
Sep 5, 2020
You can get refurbished 24" iMacs that come with 16GB Ram. 8GB will work as I have a MBA 13" that works just fine but like you I would prefer 16GB.

Reactions: HRJR

wilberforce

macrumors 68030
Aug 15, 2020
SF Bay Area
Unless you are a lightweight Photoshop user don't get 8GB RAM. (Actually, unless you are a lightweight user in general, don't get 8GB RAM.) I use Photoshop and 16GB is just OK on Apple Silicon. Photoshop uses more memory on Apple Silicon than on Intel, because it takes some of the shared "unified memory" for its graphical acceleration function (which on Intel is performed by the separate GPU with its separate VRAM).
Sure, there will be people who will say they run X, Y, Z on 8GB fine, and some people have very tight budgets, but there is a real benefit to getting 16GB RAM for apps like Photoshop, that getting 8GB is verging on a mistake if you have the choice

Last edited:
Reactions: AAPLGeek

rm5

macrumors 68020
Mar 4, 2022
United States
I can comfortably say 16 GB is a requirement for every user. Why Apple sells Macs with 8 GB of RAM is simply beyond me. Just get 16 GB of RAM, you'll be happier later on... Getting only 8 GB is almost a guarantee that you'll be swapping with the disk a lot of the time, if not all the time.