Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

phillytim

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 12, 2011
Philadelphia, PA
Just picked up a like-new open box 11" 2022 iPad Pro over the weekend, at 256GB storage for the price of a 128GB - so a decent deal.

I graduated from just over four happy years with an iPad 6, and an original iPad Air for 5 years prior to that.

Frankly, I'm struggling for real use cases for my new Pro, other than being a glorified bigger screen to chill with at coffee shops and couch-surf - especially having an iPhone 11 Pro Max that feels much more agile for my daily use.

I do manage family documents in the cloud, and even give a little occasional IT support via screen share for others in my family/friends; so the bigger screen will be helpful; but still....

My goal for a new iPad was to get one with an M-chip & Apple Pencil 2 support; and that meant at least a 5th gen Air (256GB for a $650 deal) - which is already pretty close in price to the Pro - so I just splurged for the Pro and for the good advice of having ProMotion on a bigger screen.

My plans are to still get an upcoming M3-based MacBook Air to replace my ragged ol' 2011 MacBook Pro. I have over a terabyte of data that I've been storing on a computer from over the years; so I've been hesitating to get a keyboard case for my new iPad Pro - because then I'd want it to be my "real" computer - and I'd just try to fool myself into thinking that I could do without a real laptop.

Don't get me wrong - I have always enjoyed having an iPad, and I'm excited about the perceived longevity of my first M-based iPad; but I just didn't quite expect myself to have such mixed-emotions about an $800 device - and Apple frustrates me for not giving Pencil 2 support to its more reasonably-priced devices, especially the $449 10th Gen iPad.

Ahh well.

Last edited:

RaphaZ

macrumors 6502
Dec 2, 2021