Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mitchino

macrumors member
Original poster
May 25, 2015
Last week I bought a Mac Mini M2 Pro, and so far I'm loving it. I'm running Sonoma 14.4.1. The Mac keeps going to sleep, and the Energy Saver panel in Sonoma seems to have less options than I have on older Macs like Computer Sleep and Display Sleep.How can I keep the machine on unless I tell it to sleep?

My other question is about external storage - what are good options? Should I just get a Samsung T7 or similar? I'm a bit confused about the firewire/usb-c/usb-a ports on the machine.

mitchino

macrumors member
Original poster
May 25, 2015
Thanks - use case is I'm a photographer & CGI artist who needs fast storage for working files, textures etc etc.

I meant to say Thunderbolt not Firewire!

Thanks for the Caffeinate tip - have installed.

Last edited:

mitchino

macrumors member
Original poster
May 25, 2015
Been on you tube and buying an enclosure and nvme drive seems to be the way to go, speeds up to 3000mbps. I'm slightly concerned about the drive getting too hot - is that an issue?

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
Heat can be an issue with high speed nvme drives. Mostly due to the enclosures, I think.

What happens is that if the drive gets too hot (heavy extended writes), then the enclosure (or drive) will "throttle back", reducing speed to compensate and reduce heat.

Thus, a "very fast" drive will slow down when overheating, sometimes by a drastic amount.

My suggestion would be to try either a Samsung t7 (or t9), or a Crucial X-9 first.
Both are USB3.1 gen2 drives that will give reads in the 850-925MBps range.
Not "thunderbolt speeds", but still quite fast and respectable.

If you try one and it's still "not enough", re-purpose it to backing up, etc.

Reactions: leifp

kenny1wk

macrumors member
Nov 16, 2012