Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chucktown

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 24, 2009
Hello all,
I'm a new mac user as of january and have a beautiful new aluminum macbook. I tried searching for an answer to this problem and have yet to find one, hoping yall can help. I am a college student and cannot connect to my schools wireless network, my airport says i have a self assigned IP address and may not be able to connect to the internet...this also happens when i plug into their network via ethernet...is there any solution? i cannot do anything to the router as i have no clue where they are in the library

I would greatly appreciate any help yall can give

Tomorrow

macrumors 604
Mar 2, 2008
Always a day away
Open System Preferences and click Network. Is your AirPort adapter turned on (green light)?

If so, check your menu bar on the right side and look for the AirPort icon, and click it. See if you can get a list of available networks. If you can click on one that isn't security-enabled, you should be able to connect to it.

Consultant

macrumors G5
Jun 27, 2007
Schcools usually require some kind of authentication for network access. Ask your school's IT department (check their web site).

chucktown

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 24, 2009
yea the airport is on and it says i'm connected to the network...consultant, the browser should go to an authentication page where i log in but i can't get that far because the authentication page won't load, it says address can't be found or something to that effect

wbeasley

macrumors 65816
Nov 23, 2007
Running any applications?

I run a mixed Windows & Mac network (wired and wireless).

Most days it runs just fine.

One thing I have noticed is the wireless (and sometimes ADSL connection) just drops out.

Seems to happen mostly when running Transmission, a torrent program.