Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tbgb50

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 10, 2024
I am new to Mac and just got a mini a couple of days ago. When I went through the setup I was required to create an iCloud password, which was a bit confusing, since I have an Apple ID for my iPhone and iPad. Anyway:

My phone and iPad have face or touch ID so this was never an issue. On the Mac I need to enter one of the passwords for the App store or to change certain settings (not sure what the pattern is). Since you can't copy/paste your password is there a way to turn off all this password checking?

My system password is 18 characters and I'm close to making it 1234.

Thanks for any advice.

Bigwaff

Contributor
Sep 20, 2013
When I went through the setup I was required to create an iCloud password, which was a bit confusing, since I have an Apple ID for my iPhone and iPad.
You can use the same Apple ID and password to login into iCloud on all your Apple devices.
Since you can't copy/paste your password is there a way to turn off all this password checking?
No. You don’t have to use your Apple ID password as your Macs login password. The passwords can be different. Apple ID can be used to change password if you forget your login password, like fail safe.

Reactions: mr_jomo

tbgb50

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 10, 2024
You can use the same Apple ID and password to login into iCloud on all your Apple devices.

No. You don’t have to use your Apple ID password as your Macs login password. The passwords can be different. Apple ID can be used to change password if you forget your login password, like fail safe.
Thanks for the reply.

When I first powered it up to go through the initial setup, I tried to use my Apple ID password. It was rejected with a message stating that Apple now requires your iCloud password to be different than your Apple ID.