Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Khurram

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 28, 2006
So my first ever mac just arrived a couple hours ago! i love it!
no problems so far whatsover...just a few newbie questions
My hd is already filled with 16.7gb of stuff I dont think I want..

How do I uninstall programs completely to free up some hd space?
Is there an add/remove programs type option like on windows?
this is my first time using a mac os!

Any links where I could go to learn the basics of using osx as well would really help, as i'm lost with the little things like copy, paste, cut shortcuts and stuff like that...

how do I maximize a screen? is the only way to drag it open? And will it stay like that when I re open it?
thanks in advance!
this lappy rules and it's ohhh so pretty:)

Allotriophagy

macrumors 6502a
Sep 5, 2006
Cut = Apple key and X (Apple key is also called Option key, or Command. Or the one next to it is called that or the other. I forget)

Paste = Apple + V

Copy = Apple + C

Generally, wherever you had a shortcut in Windows that used CTRL, try swapping CTRL for Apple!

Check out the Apple Help by clicking on your Desktop then going to the Help menu. Search for keyboard shortcuts - lots of good stuff in the help.

Try Monolingual to remove unwanted language packs to free up some space.

To remove programs, you generally just drag them to the Trash then empty the trash.

The green circle in the top left corner should maximise the window.

EricNau

Moderator emeritus
Apr 27, 2005
San Francisco, CA
To uninstall applications you just click and drag the app's icon into the trash; that's it.

If you really want to free up space you might want to do a custom install of OS X and leave out the programs and features you don't want (like foreign languages).