Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

thailandmac

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 2, 2023
Hello all,

I just got a new MBP 14 inch, M2...I never wanted to upgrade from my 2015 MBP, which I love so much, but I'm travelling in Thailand and I got a swollen battery, Apple told me I'd need to travel to Singapore to get a new battery and that was almost half the price of a new laptop for the trip, so I ordered a new laptop from the Apple store here. It's a beautiful machine, however, some of the keyboard keys feel "wobbly", particularly longer keys like the command key, which as an engineer I press about 1000x a day, and it's driving me crazy. Most keys are fine, and feel tight and nice, however, a few of them feel less stable, sort of like if you press down on the sides of a bed it caves in more than in the center. I don't know if this is normal or a defect. The right click side of the trackpad also seems a bit stuck sometimes, particularly if I try to press with the side of thumb, then the second time I click it's ok. The MBP was so expensive down here if it's a defect I'd rather return it ASAP. I'm not close by to any Apple store and I've had to send it back by mail if I return, there's nowhere I can easily go verify lots of MBP to see if those have the same issue. I did try to compare it to my 2015 and some keys do feel slightly unstable, as well if I really try to click around I can get a part of the trackpad that is really hard to click down on, but maybe I'm just used to it on my 2015 and don't notice it anymore. But of course if I have defective MBP for 3000$ I'd rather return it in the return period than deal with problems afterwards.

Thanks for any info!

Honza1

macrumors 6502a
Nov 30, 2013
US