Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jefferis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 10, 2015
Wimberley, TX
Has anyone tested the new Photos app? I'd like to stop paying Adobe for Photoshop and Lightroom. Want to know if the new version of Photos is suitable for a replacement for Lightroom (I have Affinity Photo). Was disappointed when Aperture got dropped and Photos replaced iPhotos.... just confusing and tons of duplicates.
So... anyone have any insight? I'm not a pro photographer, but a painter and I do some enhancements for websites. And I have third party programs like OnOne and Aurora HDR

Thanks
Jeff

Mike Boreham

macrumors 68040
Aug 10, 2006
UK
Has anyone tested the new Photos app? I'd like to stop paying Adobe for Photoshop and Lightroom. Want to know if the new version of Photos is suitable for a replacement for Lightroom (I have Affinity Photo). Was disappointed when Aperture got dropped and Photos replaced iPhotos.... just confusing and tons of duplicates.
So... anyone have any insight? I'm not a pro photographer, but a painter and I do some enhancements for websites. And I have third party programs like OnOne and Aurora HDR

Thanks
Jeff

There is no simple one answer to this....only a gazillion and very opposed opinions. You are going to have to do some serious research and study and try it out for your usage.

Personally I was a heavy Lightroom user for some years, then switched to Aperture which I loved, but now really appreciate Photos for the automatic syncing of pictures and edits across all devices, which is huge for myself and wife, but may not matter at all to you. The editing capabilities are much more powerful than many non-users (or superficial users) realise.