Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jtara

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Mar 23, 2009
Today I got messages on multiple devices (iPhone 12ProMax, iMac, iPad) about "new icloud signon" on a device (iPhone 5S) that was POWERED DOWN. I should note that I am a developer, so I have quite a few devices for test. Older ones I just keep powered down and charge when/if needed. (don't think I'll have much use for the iPhone 4 or iPad 1.)

(So, not really sure if this is the best place to post...)

I've previously gotten similar messages but only recently. Didn't pay much attention, because they were more plausible. For example, for my old 2008 Aluminum Macbook. But it is powered, though the clamshell is closed. I guess it's plausible it would occasionally wake up.

I may have gotten others, but didn't pay much attention, because device was powered-up. I just assume maybe the iCloud login "refreshes" it's self at infrequent intervals?

I wish I had thought to do a "find my" BEFORE powering-up the iPhone 5S! But, stupidly, I powered it up, THEN did "find my" to of course discover that it said, yes, it's right here. Well, actually, I hadn't meant to power it up, but instinctively went for the power button instead of the thumb sensor to see if it was powered, and of course then it powered-up.

Everything (except the 2008 Macbook) is up-to-date with the latest patched OSs, so satisfied that it's not Israli security service hacking into my devices. ;)

Anybody else experience this, or know what is going on?

The 5S is only on WiFi, only my current 12SMax (and Apple Watch 6) are on cell service.

I do have 2FA enabled, now not sure what device it said was "near Los Angeles" (I'm in San Diego) but I always get that for wired devices or devices on my WiFi because that's where I get geo-located by IP address (Google Webpass). Find my did geo-locate all devices properly at my home in San Diego.